WING JONES

US

Available now from:

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

 

UK

Available now from:

Waterstones 

Foyles

Amazon

From Goodreads

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers an extraordinary talent she never knew she had. Wing's running could bring her family everything it needs. It could also keep Wing from the one thing she wants.

Praise for Wing Jones/The Heartbeats of Wing Jones

“The pure and vivid voice of Katherine Webber's Wing illuminates an America of hope and tragedy, where both ruin and triumph lurk just around the corner. Life isn't easy for Wing, the unsung sister of a fallen hero, but in her darkest time, she'll find her own strength. I fell in love with Wing Jones, and you will too.” — Laini Taylor, New York Times Best Selling Author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone

“Wing Jones is smart and kind and sexy and wise and I loved it. And it makes you want to pull on your shoes and start running.” — Katherine Rundell, bestselling author of Rooftoppers and The Wolf Wilder

“Luminous. One of the best debuts I’ve ever read.” Samantha Shannon, New York Times Best Selling Author of The Bone Season

" A splendidly diverse domestic setup with vivid, evocative details." The Guardian, Best New Children's Books

"Set in 1990s Atlanta, this realistic coming-of-age novel, touched with magical realism, is full of diverse and strong female characters...Written in Wing’s believable first-person voice, the novel conveys the teen’s perspective of the changing world around her as the plot moves quickly along. Recommend this to fans of Jandy Nelson’s and Stephanie Perkins’s books. VERDICT Many teens will connect with this original debut about family, love, and the courage to stand up to life’s challenges." School Library Journal

“Already lots of buzz about the debut...it's well deserved, an immensely readable novel about family. [...] Running is key to Wing's self-discovery and these scenes are some of the most striking in the book, really inspirational to see such a positive storyline about girls and sport.” The Bookseller, Ones to Watch

"A well-crafted, inspirational debut with plenty of heart, hope, and determination." - Booklist Review

"In 1995 Atlanta, a mixed-race girl finds a way to stand out on her own terms...Wing's sense of isolation is well-captured, and her grief and confusion are raw and moving. Overall, a solid debut." - Kirkus Review

"In a story showing how hope and love can blossom in the midst of chaos, first-time author Webber explores Wing’s challenges to be a winner" - Publisher's Weekly

“Rife with romance, heartache, new challenges, and fabulous grandmothers who give great windows into Wing’s multicultural heritage (she’s half-Black, half-Chinese), this is a lovely debut that’s not to be missed”— Barnes&Noble’s Most Anticipated Contemporary YA books of 2017

Best Books to read in March 2017, Teen Vogue

 "This lovely YA debut follows Wing Jones, a Chinese-Ghanaian highschooler, who, in 1990s Atlanta finds herself in the midst of family tragedy with only one escape: running. It’s a powerful and charming book about finding support and inner strength against the odds" - Buzzfeed

"[an] honest story about identity and grief."--Bustle, Best Young Adult Books in March 2017

"A compelling and heartwarming account of finding hope even in the bleakest of circumstances." - The Irish Times

I loved that it took all the building blocks of great YA, but made something really new and fresh from them. It's got some pretty teary moments but, ultimately, it's a triumphant read about finding your own strength” - The Pool

A beautifully bittersweet debut in which a teenage girl discovers a latent talent that shines light on the darkest of timesSet in the run-up to the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, this is an expansive, heartfelt tale of loss, first love and self-discovery, and readers will truly root for Wing. Highly recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell.” — Love Reading Debut of the Month for January 

"A very assured debut...a story that engages the attention and keeps the pages turning...a contemporary fairy tale" -- Books for Keeps

“Full of heartache, hope, and personal triumph. You’ll fall in love with the characters, cheer them on, and cry for them. Magical and real, sad and triumphant. It explores grief, tragedy, perseverance, bullying, ambition, blossoming love, friendship, family, and more. A truly beautiful book”MuggleNet